Explained: Kenya to join exclusive G-20, what it means

Kenya is set to join the exclusive club of 20 major nations, popularly known as the G-20.

The G-20 is an intergovernmental forum made up of 19 countries and the European Union, with South Africa being the only African member on the list.

These countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States.

Kenya will join this exclusive club of major economies in the world if the African Union (AU) is accepted to join the conference using the same method as the European Union was included.

AU’s efforts were strengthened by US President Joe Biden after he approved the move in a statement issued by White House adviser Judd Devermont.

“We need more African voices in the international dialogue that concerns the world economy, democracy and governance, climate change, health and security,” Devermont declared on December 10.


The AU’s request to be given a permanent seat in the G20 was made by the Chairperson of the AU and the President of Senegal Macky Sall and the President of South Africa Cyril Ramaphosa.

G20 countries discuss and develop policies related to the most important issues facing the world economy, including governance, climate change, health and safety.

What does this mean for Kenya?

With the AU being a permanent member, Kenya will have a voice in international affairs as a member of the AU.

The country is struggling with the negative effects of climate change and will now be able to advocate for policies that can reduce this situation.

%d bloggers like this: