Breaking News, Kenya News. Today's latest from


Mohamed Salah wins PFA player of the year

[wpforms id="11185"]

Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah was named PFA Player of the Year for the second time on Thursday and Chelsea’s Sam Kerr won the Women’s Award.

Salah, who shared the Premier League’s golden boot this season with Tottenham Hotspur’s top scorer Son Heung-min, also won the award in the 2017-18 season.

The 29-year-old Egyptian scored 31 goals in all competitions for Liverpool and helped them win the League Cup and the FA Cup.

“He is very good at winning, especially because he is voted for by the players. It shows you that you have worked hard and you get what you worked for,” Salah said.

“I have my own trophy room in a wardrobe and I have made sure I have another space for one more. I always save space and try to imagine the trophies coming.

Striker Kerr, who was the Women’s Premier League top scorer this season, has become the first Australian player to win the PFA Player of the Year award.

“It’s a great honor, I think, every time you get voted by your teammates. I think it’s a great honor as a player, so it’s a wonderful feeling,” said Kerr, who played a key role in the Chelsea national team victory.

Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Lauren Hemp retained their Young Player of the Year titles, with former England manager Roy Hodgson and Brighton & Hove Albion Women’s manager Hope Powell receiving accolades for their gambling contribution.

“Unfortunately I have never won a trophy as a player, so it is good to be recognized by other professionals. He will have a respectable position,” said Hodgson, who announced his retirement last month, after more than 40 years in leadership.

Rated 0.0 out of 5
0.0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Very good0%