The only 4 approved taxi operators by NTSA

The National Transport and Safety Authority [NTSA) has allowed only four taxi companies to operate in the country following calls for re-registration.

In a notice issued on Monday, October 31, NTSA Director General George Njao announced that only Uber, Bolt, Yego and Little cab are allowed to operate in the country.

“In carrying out its duties and in compliance with the requirements of the NTSA Transport Network (TNC), Drivers and Passengers Rules, 2022, the following companies are authorized to operate as transport network companies,” reads part of the statement.

One of the conditions for approval was that taxi companies had to have a physical address and a working telephone number that was published on the notice.

On October 26, NTSA disclosed that it received applications from six companies, although more than ten are operating in the country.

a PHOTO FIELE OF taxi in Nairobi

“So far the Authority has received six applications and all are in the verification stage before issuing licenses to successful applicants,” Njao said.

The new registration follows the passage of the Transit Network Companies (TNC) Driver and Passenger Regulations Act, which came into effect in June.

All companies seeking re-registration were required to demonstrate tax compliance and had to be duly registered with the Data Commissioner as data controllers or data processors.

In addition, NTSA has asked the companies to obtain a certificate of registration and a common contract between TNCs and owners of vehicles in their fleet.

%d bloggers like this: