Win for Ruto as TangaTanga MPs win the parliamentary debate over political parties Amendment.

A blow to President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga in Parliament after lawmakers backing Ruto won the first round in their attempt to ignore the Political Parties Amendment Bill 2021 which allows for the formation of coalition parties.

In the first round, the Tangatanga MPs outperformed their Kieleweke constituencies, allowing for amendments proposed by Tigania West MP John Mutunga.

Ruto’s MPs planned amendments to reduce the bill. Pro Uhuru and Raila MPs want the bill passed without amendment.

Ruto MPs managed to get 123 lawmakers to vote against 118 Kieleweke amendments.

Mutunga, among other things, suggested that the amendments be a special color for the ruling parties.

Tangatanga deputies have targeted reforms aimed at, among other things, undermining the office of the registrar of political parties.

According to Ruto-backed lawmakers, a bill proposed by the National Assembly’s majority leader, Amos Kimunya, gives royal powers to Anne Nderitu’s office.

On Tuesday, the DP warned that the proposed law would give the office of the registrar of political parties more control over party affairs in the country.

%d bloggers like this: